Ako D. Bradford, MD, FACP

Appointment line: (806) 350 - 7308

Fellow, American College of Physicians

1301 S. Coulter St, Suite 202

Amarillo, Texas 79106


HEALing starts with HEALth; so, let’s make yours a priority!” – Hebrews 10:24 (NLT)

Dr. Bradford was born in Tougaloo, MS and graduated high school from the Mississippi School for Mathematics and Science in Columbus, MS in 1992. After graduating cum laude with a BS from Tougaloo College in 1996, he spent two years conducting research and publishing at the National Institutes of Health in Rockville, Maryland. Dr. Bradford subsequently attended the Virginia Commonwealth University / Medical College of Virginia School of Medicine in Richmond, Virginia. After graduating in 2002, he and his wife moved to Amarillo where he completed his Internal Medicine Residency at Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center in 2005.

Because Dr. Bradford has an aggressive desire to serve patients and assist them in functional health, he specializes in Primary Care Internal Medicine for adult men and women.


Board Certified, American Board of Internal Medicine #261450 (2005, 10 year recertification 2015)

Drug Enforcement Administration Registration (2005 - )

Texas Medical Board Physician Full License #M1530 (2005 - ) 


Community Service

Deputy Public Health Authority, Public Health Dept. - City of Amarillo (2009 - )

Prior Member, Greater Amarillo Medical Reserve Corp (GAMRC) – Hurricane

Katrina responder (2005)

Basic & Advanced Disaster Life Support (B/ADLS) certified (2008)



Medical Director, Stroke Program (NWTHS)

Chairman, Bylaws Committee (NWTHS)

Faculty Presenter, Veterans Health Administration eHealth University National

Meeting (V.A., 2007 - 2008)

Presenter, 2nd Belarusian-American Research Conference of Doctors –

"Christianity and Medicine" and the 14th Scientific Session of Gomel State Medical University - "Actual Issues of Medicine" on 18 years of

Chernobyl Catastrophe; Gomel Region, Russia (2004)


Professional Societies, Honors & Awards

Texas Super Doctors "Rising Stars" List in Texas Monthly Magazine (2012, 2013, 2014)

Physician of the Year (NWTHS, 2011)

Fellow, American College of Physicians (FACP) #01248697 (2009 - )

Member, Society of Hospital Medicine

Resident's Choice Award (TTUHSC, 2004 - 2005)

Internal Medicine Teaching Award (TTUHSC, 2004 - 2005)

The George Kollmar Award (V.A., 2003 - 2004)

Chief Resident, Internal Medicine (TTUHSC, 2004 - 2005)